Image: Princeton University Logo
EHS Banner collage (safety manual, men wearing hardhats) EHS Banner collage (radiation symbol, two scientists) EHS Banner collage (biohazard symbol, geiger counter)
Home | Workplace Safety | Laboratory Safety | Radiation Safety | Biological Safety | Emergencies
About EHS


Environmental, Safety and Risk Management Committee

Committee Charter

Revised 12/21/09

The existing Committee on Occupational Safety and Health (COSH) has been reconstituted as the Environmental, Safety and Risk Management Committee and the scope broadened to include the following areas:

  • Laboratory Safety
  • Regulatory Compliance
  • Occupational Health and Safety
  • Visitor and Contractor Safety
  • Pollution Prevention
  • Fire Safety
  • Building Security Systems
  • Fleet Safety
  • University-Sponsored Off-Campus Programs
  • Special Events
  • Athletic Events
  • Sanitation

The reconstituted committee is responsible for developing policy and procedures to improve oversight of these areas from a safety and risk management perspective.  It is also responsible for establishing written institutional policies and guidelines,determining acceptable levels of risk for the institution, approving and endorsing training and audit procedures to ensure compliance with policies, and providing guidance to the Office of Environmental Health and Safety, the Department of Risk Management, the Department of Public Safety, and individual academic and administrative departments.  The committee  performs regular reviews of incident statistics including workers' compensation losses, automobile accidents, visitor injuries, property losses, fires/false alarms, and provides periodic reports of the status of the University's safety and risk management efforts in these areas.

Subcommittees and groups:

  • Emergency Preparedness and Response Task Force
  • Radiation Safety
  • Fire Safety Group
  • Fleet Safety Group
  • Workers Compensation Committee

Committee Membership


Treby Williams, Executive Vice President

Committee Members

Vice President for Finance and Treasurer, Carolyn Ainslie

Dean for Research : Pablo Debenedetti

Dean of the Faculty: David P. Dobkin

Dean of the Graduate School: William B. Russel

Dean of the College: Valerie Smith

Vice President, Facilities: Michael McKay

Vice President, Campus Life: Cynthia Cherrey

General Counsel: Peter McDonough

Vice President, Human Resources: Lianne Sullivan-Crowley

Vice Provost for Institutional Equity and Diversity, Michele Minter

Faculty: Steven L. Bernasek, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Chemistry
               Richard A. Register, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Chemical Engineering

Sits with Committee

Director of Environmental Health and Safety, Secretary: Robin Izzo

Assistant Vice President for Safety and Administrative Planning, Office of the Executive Vice President: Vacant

Executive Director of Public Safety: Paul Ominsky

Executive Director of University Health Services: John Kolligian

Director of Risk Management: Megan Adams

Head, Environment, Safety, Health and Security PPPL: Jerry D. Levine

This web site is maintained by Robin Izzo.  URL:
Last update 3/20/13rmi




For a disclaimer and information regarding the use of this page, see the disclaimer notice.
Web page comments:

Link: EHS Homepage Princeton University Home Page