Emergency Guidelines for the Campus Community

Emergency Preparedness Team

The Emergency Preparedness Team reviews operational issues related to emergency preparedness planning. The EPT recommends policy and reports on goals and progress to the Environmental Safety and Risk Management Committee (ESRM), a Special Committee of the University chaired by the Executive Vice President.  For more information about ESRM, including its charter and membership, please see the committee website. Current membership of the EPT is listed below:

Treby Williams - Executive Vice President
Megan Adams - Director, Risk Management 
Mary Baum - Associate Dean of the Faculty
Chris Burkmar - Executive Director, Planning & Administration, Campus Life
Amy Campbell - Executive Director, Campus Services & Planning, University Services
Kathleen Deignan- Dean of Undergraduate Students
Dan Day - Acting Director Communications
Romy Riddick - Executive Director of Client Services, Human Resources
Andrew Kane - Assistant Vice President, Office of the Vice President for University Services
John Kolligian, Executive Director, University Health Services
Robin Izzo, Director, Environmental Health and Safety
Lisa Schreyer - Associate Dean for Student Life, Graduate School
Paul Ominsky - Executive Director, Public Safety


Focus areas for the Emergency Preparedness Team include oversight and responsibility for:

  • Identifying and correcting gaps in our plans and programs related to general emergency preparedness, including the implementation of "lessons learned" from our actual responses to emergencies.
  • Reviewing and recommending any changes in allocation of emergency planning/response responsibilities among departments.
  • Assessing and enhancing readiness of the University's Emergency Operations Center.
  • Reviewing the current inventory of available response assets, including assets owned/leased by the University and assets available through MOU/MUAs, contracts and agreements with outside entities.
  • Developing enchancements to the University's secure EPTF website and home page "emergency info" and other communications elements suporting emergency management.
  • Reviewing PTENS database and call template management/maintenance process.
  • Reviewing and supporting UHS and EHS in coordination of medical professionals, hospitals, and public health officials to develop plans relating to mass casualty incidents and situations that may require mass inoculation.
  • Enhancing the ongoing program of communication, coordination and training with departmental representatives and building managers in the Emergency Coordinator Program; updating building evacuation plans, as appropriate.
  • Developing and implementing emergency drills and tabletop exercises to test and refine emergency protocols.
  • Creating regular exercises for the promotion of inter-departmental cooperation, and cooperation among municipal, state, regional and federal agencies.


In 2001, The University Environmental Safety and Risk Management Committee formed an Emergency Preparedness Task Force (EPTF) to review our existing planning and preparedness efforts and develop appropriate responses to credible threats to the health and safety of the University Community.  In October 2012, recognizing that the EPTF had completed its work in creating plans and building an emergency response structure, the EPTF was reconfigured as the Emergency Preparedness Team (EPT). The EPT meets two or three times a year, as determined by the Emergency Preparedness Steering Committee, a group comprised of:

  • Treby Williams, chair
  • Amy Campbell - Executive Director, Campus Services & Planning, University Services
  • Roger Demareski - Assistant Vice President, Facilities and Operations
  • Robin Izzo - Director, Environmental Health & Safety
  • Paul LaMarche - Vice Provost for Space Programming and Planning
  • Paul Ominsky - Executive Director, Public Safety

EPT Web Pages