Home Welcome People Calendar Applications Awards Courses Search

Fall 2016
Spring 2017
Archived Events
Streaming Videos

Media icon To view the streaming videos, Flash Video Adobe Flash Player version 9.0.124 or later required.

Monday–Tuesday, May 16-17, 2011
Law, Liberty, and Virtue
A Two-Day Conference
Hosted by the James Madison Program and cosponsored by the Association for the Study of Free Institutions, University of Nebraska at Omaha, and the Bouton Law Lecture Fund
See Program for Session Times, Lewis Library 120

Monday, May 16

Keynote Address: Hadley P. Arkes, Edward N. Ney Professor in American Institutions,
Department of Political Science, Amherst College


1:30 - 3:15 p.m.     Alasdair MacIntyre’s After Virtue on its 30th Anniversary
Panelists: Thomas D. D’Andrea, University of Cambridge; Timothy Fuller, Colorado College; Matthew B. O’Brien, University of Texas at Austin; Peter Wicks, Princeton University
Chair: Paul Carrese, U. S. Air Force Academy


3:45 - 5:30 p.m.
Locke’s Liberty and Virtue and the Meaning of Modern Individualism
Panelists: Peter A. Lawler, Berry College; John Tomasi, Brown University; Lee Ward, University of Regina; Micah Watson, Princeton University and Union University
Chair: James R. Stoner, Jr., Louisiana State University



Tuesday, May 17

9:15 - 11:00 a.m.    
Virtue, Statesmanship, and Political Culture in American History
Panelists: Peter S. Field, University of Canterbury; Ted McAllister, Pepperdine University; Richard A. Samuelson, California State University, San Bernardino
Chair: Darren Staloff, City College of New York


11:15 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.    Philosophical and Theological Foundations of the New Natural Law: Some Differing Perspectives
Panelists: Joseph Boyle, Princeton University and University of Toronto; Robert Jenson, St. Olaf College, emeritus; David Novak, University of Toronto
Chair: Michael P. Moreland, Princeton University and Villanova University


2:45 - 4:30 p.m.    Revisiting Hadley Arkes’s First Things on its 25th Anniversary
Panelists: Hadley P. Arkes, Amherst College; Francis Beckwith, Baylor University; Diana J. Schaub, Loyola University Maryland; Michael Uhlmann, Claremont Graduate University
Chair: Robert P. George, Princeton University


Back to Archived Events